Skip to main content.

WITC News and Events

Departing WITC leader named president emeritus of college

Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College president Chuck Levine was named president emeritus of that institution by the WITC Board of Trustees. He received this honor at the WITC-Superior commencement ceremony May 16. President emeritus is an honorary title bestowed on a former president who has served with distinction.

 WITC WITC president Chuck Levine addresses graduates at WITC's commencement ceremony May 16 at the Superior Middle School in Superior, Wis. Levine was named president emeritus of that institution by the WITC Board of Trustees. He was presented with this honor at the WITC-Superior commencement ceremony.

In my life and in my educational and community involvement, I dont believe I have had a more rewarding personal and professional relationship with a leader I admire and respect more than Chuck Levine, WITC Board Chair Hal Helwig said. He has been honest, forthright and hard working. His involvement with me as board chair has been extremely positive, and he does not hesitate to keep the board in the loop. His integrity cannot be questioned.

Levine began his association with WITC as a student, and was subsequently hired and held positions as a business manager, vice president, and president for the college.


I was surprised and honored [to be named president emeritus], Levine said. I know what it means to be a student at WITC. My passion for this job relates to our mission to help people get jobs.

During his 35 years at WITC, Levine helped to empower learners to achieve personal and professional goals, and fostered an environment of collaboration where partnerships enhance learning, promote economic development, and improve quality of life. Under Levine, WITC ranked as the seventh-best two-year college nationwide, according to a study published in Washington Monthly.

This award marks the beginning of a transition for the college. Incoming president Dr. Bob Meyer will start at WITC July 1. Meyer is the former special assistant to the chancellor for state and federal relations; director, University of Wisconsin-Stout Technology Transfer Institute.